Aramoana Poem

July 7, 2010 at 4:58 pm | Posted in Library_News | Leave a comment

Recently we received the following email from a former Dunedin resident:

Hi there,

I’m an Australian writer who lived in Dunedin for ten years in the 1970s. I’m now based in London. I believe you have my books in your library – published by Virago.

When I lived in Dunedin I worked at the Evening Star newspaper as a journalist, and covered the story about a Swiss businessman who arrived in the city to promote the establishment of an aluminium smelter at Aramoana.

I became heavily involved in the campaign to stop the smelter, and was thrilled when the area was declared a National Park some years later.

I recently wrote a poem called Aramoana and thought you might like to read it and share it with library members.

Here’s the link to my web site where it is currently posted: http://mareegiles16.wordpress.com/2010/03/17/aramoana/

Best Wishes,

Maree Giles

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

