500 Days Of Summer DVD

July 2, 2010 at 8:49 am | Posted in DVD, DVD Film, Reviews | Leave a comment

Before I begin, a word of warning:  I always try to watch a variety of movies, and like everyone, I have certain genres I like and others I don’t – comedys and romances rank somewhere near the bottom.

I live in hope that the movie will turn out to be an enjoyable watch, and sometimes I am pleasantly surprised.  Other times, not so much.

So please take this into account – you may love this movie.  I, on the other hand, am incredibly relieved I didn’t pay good money to watch this at the cinema.

The 500 days are not running concurrently – we jump from one day to another with no semblance of order.  Yes, it’s done to show the way relationships can change, but it becomes frustrating very quickly and makes it easy to lose focus.

Zooey Deschanel’s character, Summer, is morose and annoying – almost as annoying as the character her sister Emily plays on ‘Bones’ (Temperance Brennan), but without any of the likeable quirks.

Maybe I’m just a total romantic – I believe in love and she sure doesn’t seem to!  On the plus side, it showed a new and interesting side to Matthew Grey Gubler, who plays Paul (friend of lead character Tom, played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt.)   I’ve only ever seen him on Criminal Minds, and the two characters are really quite different!

This movie also ruined some perfectly good music – for example ‘She’s Like The Wind’ or ‘Every Rose Has It’s Thorn’ (okay, these 2 songs – which are now stuck firmly in my mind – may not be the best ever, but they were looking a lot better before I saw them being mutilated by bad singing or cheesy scenes.)

And as for the ULTRA-cheesy musical number following their first intimate encounter…  My eyes were wide in disbelief!

Tom falls asleep in a movie theatre at one point during this DVD and really that mirrored how I ended up feeling.

However, I do think that if romantic comedies are your thing you’ll enjoy it!  It just wasn’t my cup of tea!

Check if it’s available at the moment here.

Reviewed by Joy

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

