Role Models DVD

July 27, 2009 at 9:54 am | Posted in DVD, DVD Film, Reviews | Leave a comment

I went into this with VERY low expectations.  I really didn’t expect the movie to do much beyond the norm of the comedy genre – constant puns and very little in the way of a decent storyline.  I had in my mind that I was going to be writing a review that told you not to watch it unless in the mood for rubbish.

However, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I genuinely enjoyed this film!  It was still chock-full of cringe worthy comedy – in fact, there were moments I just found myself putting my hands over my ears and closing my eyes to avoid the embarrassment of the characters!  But there actually seemed to be a bit of heart in the story.

Paul Rudd and Sean William Scott star as two friends who find themselves in trouble with the law after Rudd’s character Danny breaks up with his girlfriend.  Given the choice between jail or community service, they chose the latter and end up mentoring troubled kids.  Danny is paired with Augie, a quiet, dorky teenager obsessed with a Dungeons and Dragons/Medieval role playing game.  Scott’s character Wheeler partners Ronnie – the most foul-mouthed, dirty-minded 10 year old you could ever imagine.

There are, of course, several hiccups along the way – culminating in Danny and Wheeler almost being sent to prison after all.  Somehow though, at the end of the day things turn out OK – and in fact there really seems to be a moral to the story.  Do what makes you happy, no matter what others think, do or say.  There are no preachings to this message, it has been delivered in a subtle way.

I really did love this movie.  The acting was great – particularly on the part of the kids.  The comedy was actually funny – not just embarrassing – and flowed well.  I’d recommend this film highly to an adult audience – it has an R16 rating for very good reason.  In fact, I may even buy a copy for myself!

Reviewed by Joy

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

