The Last Master – A trilogy by John Suchet

January 30, 2009 at 10:14 am | Posted in Books, Fiction, Reviews, Suggestions | Leave a comment

After having written programme notes for 20 years the Southrn Sinfonia, my lip curled a little when I picked up the first volume of Suchet’s trilogy which he described as ‘ a fictional biography’ of Ludwig van Beethoven’.

On second thoughts it was apparent that this was just another historical novel about which the author claimed that, apart from giving an identity to ‘ the Immortal Beloved’, nothing he had written could not be verified from academic biographies.

On completing volume three, I feel I have a much greater insight into the composer’s life.

The reader is even taken into the Master’s mind to follow not only his turbulent life but also his process of composition.

The early 19th centuries are vividly portrayed, with even minor characters depicted in full colour.

Music-lovers will enjoy these books while for Beethoven fans they are a ‘must’.

Reviewed by Frederick


Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: