Joy Cowley and Margaret Mahy nominated for Astrid Lindgren Award

September 26, 2008 at 10:02 am | Posted in Book Awards, Books, New Zealand | Leave a comment

New Zealand authors Joy Cowley and Margaret Mahy have been nominated for this year’s Astrid Lindgren Award. They are among 153 other authors, illustrators and storytellers from 60 countries, including Quentin Blake and Anthony Browne.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is funded by the Swedish state with the purpose of spotlighting the importance of quality literature and reading in the development of children and young adults.

It aims to acknowledge cultural strengths and traditions worldwide and for this reason candidates are nominated by experts from a wide variety of countries.

The award, worth five million Swedish kronor (NZ$1,005,000), is the world’s largest prize for children’s and young people’s literature and is awarded each year by the Swedish Arts Council to someone ‘whose work reflects the spirit’ of the Swedish children’s author Astrid Lindgren.

The winner of the award will be announced in March 2009.

Source: Booksellers New Zealand


Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: