Montana New Zealand Book Awards News

July 22, 2008 at 12:41 pm | Posted in Books, Events, Fiction, Montana Book Awards, Non-Fiction, Suggestions | Leave a comment

OPPORTUNITY KNOCKS: Grimshaw Wins Montana Medal

Charlotte Grimshaw has proven that literary talent runs in families, by winning the Montana Medal for fiction or poetry for her short story collection, Opportunity.

The daughter of literary great, CK Stead, Charlotte Grimshaw’s winning book is an absorbing series of stories delving into a diverse range of lives which are all interlinked.

The award was accepted by her publisher, Harriet Allan at a gala awards ceremony held in Wellington’s Town Hall. Charlotte Grimshaw is currently overseas. She said, via her publisher, that she was pleased Opportunity had done well.

‘It’s a book centred on New Zealand, and it’s all about our New Zealand stories. Each story is written in the first person, and part of the point of the book is to describe and convey the unique New Zealand voice.’

This year’s Montana New Zealand Book Awards judges’, Lynn Freeman, David Elworthy and Tim Corbaliss said Opportunity was a clear winner for the breadth and ambition of its design, the layers of its meaning, and the multiplicity of reading experiences it affords.

‘By turns touching, funny, dark, and redemptive, this is a book for reading through then re-reading in a different order, for following clues, for setting aside and thinking about, and for getting lost in.’

Charlotte Grimshaw also took the BPANZ Reviewer of the Year Award at the ceremony.

Janet Hunt has won the 2008 Montana Medal for Non-fiction for a book that evokes both national celebration and sorrow; the story of our wetlands.

Wetlands of New Zealand – A Bitter-Sweet Story, written over many years and designed by the author herself, is a stunning and touching insight into these beautiful (and broken) eco-systems and their inhabitants.

Judges’ convenor, Lynn Freeman said while all the category winning titles exemplified excellence in their fields, their decision to name the overall Non-fiction winner was made in a heartbeat.

‘The very best Non-fiction is a delicate balance of facts and research, and a sense of the writer and their passion for their subject. When the story told also brings to our attention as a nation, something significant that has been overlooked, we really can’t ask for more.

‘Janet Hunt’s Wetlands of New Zealand has achieved all of these things, and many readers, we are sure, will feel galvanised to explore these revealed mysteries for themselves.’

The winners of the country’s most prestigious awards for contemporary writing were chosen from more than 220 books submitted.


Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: