Montana New Zealand Book Awards – 2008 Finalist line-up

June 10, 2008 at 3:17 pm | Posted in Books, Fiction, Library_News, Montana Book Awards, Non-Fiction | 1 Comment

The full list of finalists in the 2008 Montana New Zealand Book Awards by category are:


  • The Blue by Mary McCallum (Penguin Group (NZ))
  • Edwin & Matilda by Laurence Fearnley (Penguin Group (NZ))
  • Luminous by Alice Tawhai (Huia Publishers)
  • Opportunity by Charlotte Grimshaw (Random House NZ)


  • Cold Snack by Janet Charman (Auckland University Press)
  • A Long Girl Ago by Johanna Aitchison (Victoria University Press)
  • The Pop-Up Book of Invasions by Fiona Farrell (Auckland University Press)


  • The Best Man Who Ever Served the Crown? A Life of Donald McLean by Ray Fargher (Victoria University Press)
  • The Life and Times of James Walter Chapman-Taylor by Judy Siers (Millwood Heritage Productions Ltd)
  • Waimarino County & Other Excursions by Martin Edmond (Auckland University Press)


  • Age of Enterprise: Rediscovering the New Zealand Entrepreneur 1881-1910 by Ian Hunter (Auckland University Press)
  • Devils on Horses by Terry Kinloch (Exisle Publishing)
  • Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka Volume II: Te Ara Hou – The New Society by Hilary and John Mitchell (Huia Publishers)


  • Southern Alps by Alison Ballance (Random House NZ)
  • The Surface of the Sea: Encounters with New Zealand’s Upper Ocean Life by Iain Anderson (Raupo Publishing)
  • Wetlands of New Zealand by Janet Hunt (Random House NZ)


  • Aberhart by Laurence Aberhart, with essays by Gregory O’Brien and Justin Paton (Victoria University Press)
  • Bill Hammond: Jingle Jangle Morning by Jennifer Hay, with Ron Brownson, Chris Knox
    and Laurence Aberhart; designed by Aaron Beehre (Christchurch Art Gallery)
  • Comma dot dogma edited by Aaron Kreisler (Umbrella)

Lifestyle and Contemporary Culture:

  • InForm: New Zealand Graffiti Artists Discuss Their Work by Elliot O’Donnell (Raupo Publishing)
  • Mau Moko: The World of Māori Tattoo by Ngahuia Te Awekotuku (Penguin Group (NZ))
  • Shot In New Zealand: The art and craft of the Kiwi cinematographer by Duncan Petrie (Random House NZ)

Reference and Anthology:

  • Look This Way: New Zealand Writers on New Zealand Artists edited by Sally Blundell (Auckland University Press)
  • A Nest of Singing Birds: 100 years of the New Zealand School Journal by Gregory O’Brien (Learning Media Limited)
  • The Transit of Venus edited by Mary Varnham (Awa Press)

The winner in each category receives a prize of $5,000. Each category winner is eligible for the Montana Medal for non fiction or the Montana Medal for poetry or fiction, both of which carry a prize of $10,000.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner to be held at the Wellington Town Hall on Monday, 21 July 2008.


1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Cold Snack by Janet Charman is a great read!
    I loved it!Hope she won!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: