Finalists for 2008 LIANZA Children’s Book Awards Announced

June 6, 2008 at 9:17 am | Posted in Books, Events, Fiction, LIANZA Awards, Library_News, New Zealand, Non-Fiction | Leave a comment

These unique awards, judged by a panel of librarians and showcasing the expertise of the library and information profession, celebrate New Zealand authors and illustrators and are presented for excellence in literature, illustration, non-fiction and Te Reo Māori.

The judges were so impressed with the high standard of entries for New Zealand’s longest established book prize, the Esther Glen Award (established in 1945), that they have included six finalists.

Convenor of the judging panel Bob Docherty says, “Some of New Zealand’s best ever children’s fiction writers have books in the top six along with some outstanding new writers. The finalists show a good balance of genres from fantasy to adventure realism, science fiction, social realism and humour.”

The shortlist for the Esther Glen Award (Fiction) is:

  • Salt by Maurice Gee (Penguin New Zealand)
  • Losing it by Sandy McKay (Longacre Press)
  • Smashed by Mandy Hager (Random House New Zealand)
  • The Sea-wreck Stranger by Anna Mackenzie (Longacre Press)
  • The Dumpster Saga by Craig Harrison (Scholastic New Zealand)
  • Time of the Eagle by Sherryl Jordan (Simon & Schuster)

The shortlist for the Russell Clark Award (Illustration) is:

  • Dad’s Takeaways by Melanie Drewery, Illustrated by Christopher White (Mallinson Rendel)
  • Willy’s Dad by Scott Tulloch (Harper Collins)
  • Rats! by Gavin Bishop (Random House New Zealand)
  • Te Po Roa by Andrew Burdan (Huia Education)
  • Tahi, One Lucky Kiwi by Melanie Drewery, Illustrated by John O’Reilly & Ali Teo (Random House New Zealand)

The shortlist for the Elsie Locke Award (Non Fiction) is:

  • What is a …..? (series – Amphibian/Bird/Reptile/Mammal/Fish) by Feana Tuákoi (Scholastic New Zealand)
  • Rubbish by Rachael Goddard (Raupo Publishing)
  • Weather Watch New Zealand by Sandra Carrod (Raupo Publishing)
  • Draw New Zealand Birds by Heather Arnold (Raupo Publishing)
  • The Illustrated History of Antarctica by Marcia Stenson (Random House New Zealand)

The Te Kura Pounamu Judges were very excited with the number of entries and said the calibre of Te Reo language was excellent.

The shortlist for the Te Kura Pounamu (Te Reo Māori) is:

  • A-Kara-Ka-Ru-Ra by Charisma Rangipuna (Huia Publishers, Ministry of Education)
  • Kai Ora! 2 – Putaiao (series) by Kararaina Uatuku, Che Wilson and Hana O’Regan (Hana Ltd)
  • Kai Ora! 2 – Tikanga a-Iwi (series) by Kararaina Uatuku, Che Wilson, Hana Pomare and Charisma Rangipuna (Hana Ltd)
  • Te Haeata (The Dawn) by Mike Davey (Raupo Publishing)
  • Te Wheke-a-Muturangi by Lee Watt (Hana Ltd)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: